Marijuana laws by state

September 2021

State Type of law Age restrictions Possession limits Retail recreational sales allowed
Alabama medical; effective May 17, 2021 if under age 19, cannot purchase or possess medical cannabis and cannot use medical cannabis with more than 3 percent THC no more than 70 daily dosages, as determined by a physician, which may not exceed 50 mg of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
Alaska medical; effective June 1, 1999 none no more than 1 ounce
recreational; effective February 24, 2015 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce October 29, 2016
Arizona medical none no more than 2.5 ounces
recreational; effective November 30, 2020 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce, of which not more than 5 grams can be marijuana concentrate January 22, 2021
Arkansas medical; effective November 9, 2016 if under age 21, cannot smoke medical marijuana no more than 2.5 ounces
California medical; effective November 6, 1996 none no more than 8 ounces unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
recreational; effective November 9, 2016 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 28.5 grams of cannabis not in the form of concentrated cannabis and no more than 8 grams of concentrated cannabis January 1, 2018
Colorado medical; effective June 1, 2001 if under age 18, cannot smoke medical marijuana when on school grounds, on a school bus, or at a school-sponsored event no more than 2 ounces unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
recreational; effective December 10, 2012 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 2 ouncesFootnote 1 January 1, 2014
Connecticut medical; effective October 1, 2012 if under age 18, may not grow marijuana plants or smoke medical marijuana (effective 10/01/21) no more than 5 ounces
recreational; effective July 1, 2021 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1.5 ounces of cannabis; within the person's residence, locked glove box, or vehicle trunk, no more than 5 ounces yes; date not specified
Delaware medical; effective July 1, 2011 if under age 18, may use only medical marijuana oil and only for certain debilitating conditions and symptoms no more than 6 ounces
District of Columbia medical; effective in 2009 none no more than 4 ounces
recreational; effective February 26, 2015 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 2 ounces not allowed
Florida medical; effective March 25, 2016 none 70-day supply or 4 ounces in a form for smoking unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
Georgia limited medical; April 16, 2015 none no more than 20 fluid ounces of specified cannabis product that contains no more than 5 percent THC
Hawaii medical; effective June 14, 2000 none no more than 4 ounces
Idaho no law n/a n/a
Illinois medical; effective January 1, 2014 if under age 18, may have ID card only for seizures or as provided by administrative rule; if under age 21, may use only medical cannabis-infused products no more than 2.5 ounces unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
recreational; effective January 1, 2020 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 30 ounces of cannabis flower, 500 milligrams of THC contained in cannabis-infused product, and 5 grams of cannabis concentration January 1, 2020
Indiana limited medical; April 26, 2017 none specified cannabis product that contains no more than 0.3 percent THC
Iowa limited medical; effective July 1, 2014 none no more than 4.5 grams in a 90-day period unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
Kansas limited medical; effective July 1, 2019 none specified cannabis product that contains no more than 5 percent THC relative to the cannabidiol concentration in the preparation
Kentucky limited medical; effective April 10, 2014 none specified cannabis product obtained pursuant to a written order of a physician practicing at a hospital or associated clinic affiliated with a Kentucky public university having a college or school of medicine, derived from industrial hemp, or approved as a prescription by the FDA
Louisiana limited medical if under age 21, cannot obtain raw or crude marijuana without a physician's recommendation (effective 01/01/22) 1 month supply; THC levels must be reduced to the lowest acceptable therapeutic levels available
Maine medical; December 22, 1999 none up to 2.5 ounces
recreational; effective January 30, 2017 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use up to 2.5 ounces October 9, 2020
Maryland medical; effective June 1, 2011 none no more than 30-day supply unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
Massachusetts medical; effective January 1, 2013 none no more than 60-day supply, up to 10 ounces or as determined by the cannabis control commission
recreational; effective December 15, 2016 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce; within the person's primary residence, no more than 10 ounces November 20, 2018
Michigan medical; effective December 4, 2008 none no more than 2.5 ounces
recreational; effective December 6, 2018 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 2.5 ounces; within the person's residence, no more than 10 ounces December 1, 2019
Minnesota medical; effective May 30, 2014 none no more than 30-day supply
Mississippi limited medical; effective April 17, 2014 none specified cannabis product provided by the National Center for Natural Products Research at the University of Mississippi and dispensed by the Department of Pharmacy Services at the University of Mississippi Medical Center
Missouri medical; effective December 6, 2018 if under age 18 and not emancipated, may not have an ID card, purchase, or possess marijuana at least 60-day supply, although qualifying patients who can cultivate marijuana may possess up to 90-day supply
Montana medical; effective November 2, 2004 if under age 18, cannot smoke medical marijuana and can only use marijuana-infused products up to 1 ounce
recreational; effective January 1, 2021 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce, of which not more than 8 grams may be marijuana concentrate; the amount of THC contained in edible marijuana products to be consumed in solid form may not exceed 800 milligrams January 1, 2022
Nebraska no law n/a n/a
Nevada medical; effective by late November or early December 2000 none no more than 2.5 ounces in any 14-day period unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
recreational; effective January 1, 2017 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce July 1, 2017
New Hampshire medical; effective July 23, 2013 none no more than 2 ounces
New Jersey medical; effective October 1, 2010 none no more than 3 ounces in a 30-day period unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary
recreational; effective January 1, 2021 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce yes; date not specifiedFootnote 2
New Mexico medical; effective July 1, 2007 none 3-month supply
recreational; effective June 29, 2021 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 2 ounces of cannabis, 16 grams of cannabis extract, and 800 milligrams of edible cannabis outside the residence no later than April 1, 2022
New York medical; effective July 5, 2014 none no more than 60-day supply of the dosage determined by practitioner; within the person's private residence, no more than 5 pounds of cannabis
recreational; effective March 31, 2021 if under age 21, not allowed to possess no more than 3 ounces of cannabis and 24 grams of concentrated cannabis; within the person's private residence, no more than 5 pounds of cannabis yes; date not specifiedFootnote 3
North Carolina limited medical; effective July 13, 2014 none specified cannabis product that contains no more than 0.9 percent THC
North Dakota medical; effective April 17, 2017 if under age 19, may use only "pediatric medical marijuana", which contains no more than 6 percent THC no more than 3 ounces unless an amount up to 7.5 ounces is deemed medically necessary
Ohio medical; effective September 8, 2016 none no more than 90-day supply
Oklahoma medical; effective July 26, 2018 none no more than 72 ounces of edible marijuana, 3 ounces of marijuana on the person, 8 ounces of marijuana in the residence, and 1 ounce of concentrated marijuana
Oregon medical; effective December 3, 1998 if under age 18, cannot produce medical marijuana no more than 24 ounces
recreational; effective December 4, 2014 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 8 ounces of usable marijuana, 16 ounces of cannabinoid products in solid form, 72 ounces of cannabiniod products in liquid form, and 16 ounces of cannabinoid concentrates October 1, 2015
Pennsylvania medical; effective May 17, 2016 none no more than 30-day supply
Rhode Island medical; effective July 1, 2006 none no more than 2.5 ounces and an amount of wet marijuana as determined by the departments of health and business regulation
South Carolina limited medical; effective June 2, 2014 none specified cannabis product that contains no more than 0.9 percent THC
South Dakota medical; effective July 1, 2021 none no more than 3 ounces
recreational; on holdFootnote 4 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce, of which not more than 8 grams can be marijuana concentrate yes; date not specified Footnote 5
Tennessee limited medical; effective May 16, 2014 none specified cannabis product that contains less than 0.9 percent THC
Texas limited medical; effective June 1, 2015 none specified cannabis product that contains no more than 1 percent THC
Utah medical; effective May 8, 2018Footnote 6 if under age 18, may only qualify for a provisional patient card legal dosage limit sufficient to provide 30 days of treatment and may not exceed 113 grams of unprocessed marijuana or an amount of cannabis product that contains no more than 20 grams of total composite THC
Vermont medical; effective July 1, 2004 none no more than 2 ounces
recreational; effective July 1, 2018 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce no later than May 1, 2022Footnote 7
Virginia medical; effective July 1, 2021 none more than one cannabis product (cannabidiol oil or botanical cannabis) may be dispensed at a time; no more than 4 ounces of botanical cannabis per 30-day period
recreational; effective July 1, 2021 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce of marijuana or an equivalent amount of marijuana product January 1, 2024
Washington medical; December 3, 1998 if under age 18, may not grow marijuana plants or purchase marijuana-infused products, useable marijuana, or marijuana concentrates from a marijuana retailer no more than 48 ounces of marijuana-infused product in solid form, 3 ounces of useable marijuana, 216 ounces of marijuana-infused product in liquid form, or 21 grams of marijuana concentrates unless a greater amount is deemed medically necessary,
recreational; effective December 6, 2012 if under age 21, not allowed to purchase, possess, or use no more than 1 ounce of useable marijuana, 16 ounces of marijuana-infused product in solid form; 72 ounces of marijuana-infused product in liquid form, and 7 grams of marijuana concentrate July 8, 2014
West Virginia medical; effective July 1, 2019 none no more than 30-day supply
Wisconsin limited medical; effective April 17, 2014 none specified cannabis product in a form without a psychoactive effect
Wyoming limited medical; effective July 1, 2015 none specified cannabis product that contains less than 0.3 percent THC